Faculty and Staff

Infectious Disease Group 2017

The Infectious Diseases Division at Children's National consists of eight general pediatric infectious disease physicians, including individuals who focus on transplant infectious diseases and antimicrobial stewardship. Fellows also work with two additional physicians focusing primarily on HIV-related care and research, Drs. Natella Rakhmanina and Kathleen Ferrer. Additionally, our PhD laboratory director, Dr. Joseph Campos, our Pediatric Infectious Diseases Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Dr. Benjamin Hammer, and our doctoral-level chief of Infection Control, Dr. Xiaoyan Song, have a significant degree of involvement in fellow education. The divisions’ Staff Assistants include Ms. Tyesha Williams, our Fellowship Program Coordinator, and Mrs. Jessica Peterson who provide administrative support to our fellows. Mrs. Margaret Ryan is the Research Coordinator for the division. More information on most of our team members is available at the division's web site.

Additional faculty participate with the FDA Track programs, including Drs. Sumati Nambiar and Prabha Viswanathan who oversee training at CDER and Drs. Wellington Sun and Doran Fink, who serve similar roles at CBER.

CDER Curriculum Overview

news icon

Fellows review animal data, pharmacology, clinical trial protocols, and other data under the mentorship of CDER physicians, biostatisticians, and other personnel, for new antimicrobial agents submitted for approval.

Download an overview of the CDER curriculum