Call: 1-202-476-5000

Our History
Our Mission and Vision
Awards and Recognition
Quality Measures
Centers of Excellence
Our Leadership
Watch Us Grow
Community Benefit Program
Annual Report
Facts About Children's
International Program
Taking Action Around the World
About Washington, DC
Our Locations

this page Email This Page
Print this page Print This Page

  Join Us On:
  Follow Children's on Facebook  Facebook
  Follow Children's on Twitter  Twitter
  Watch Children's on YouTube  YouTube

Our Leadership

Board of Directors 2013
Back to Our Leadership

Children's National Medical Center
Oversees and directs all components of the medical center, including the hospital research institute, and foundation.

James W. Lintott (Chairman)
Evan Jones (Vice Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Michael J. Williams (Secretary-Treasurer)

Mark L. Batshaw, MD
Andrew C. Blair
Paul Dougherty
Fred T. Goldberg, Jr.
Scott Koenig, MD, PhD
Elizabeth A. Singer
Carolyn A. Thornell
Toni G. Verstandig

Children's Hospital
Ensures that comprehensive, high-quality, accessible pediatric services are delivered to all who come to the hospital for care.

Carolyn A. Thornell (Chairman)
Debra L. Friedman (Vice Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Gregory O’Dell (Secretary-Treasurer)

Dianna Abney, MD
Deidre Adkins
Kathryn D. Barker
Schonay Barnett-Jones
Elizabeth Duggal
Gail Feagles
Alberto Gomez
Ivan Sabel
Raul K. Shah, MD
Mary Helen Thompson
David Whiston, DDS

Children's Hospital Foundation
Supports all facets of development and philanthropic activity to advance Children’s mission of Care, Advocacy, Research, and Education.

Andrew C. Blair (Chairman)
Toni G. Verstandig (Vice Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Floyd E. Davis, III (Secretary-Treasurer)

Amy Baier
 Bret Baier
 Susan B. Baker,  MD
 Stephen T. Baldacci
 Kathryn D. Barker
 Alex Barron
 Mark L. Batshaw,  MD
 Allan J. Berman
 C. Richard Beyda
 Elizabeth Blalack
 Louis Christopher
 Marcella E. Cohen
 Denice Cora-Bramble,  MD
 Paul Dougherty
 Betty G. Ewing
 Gail Feagles
 Norma Lee Funger
 Daniel Gilbert
 Wendy Goldberg
 Bradley Graham
 Mae Grennan
 Eric Hoffman,  PhD
 Larry D. Ishol
 Richard Jonas,  MD
 Cindy Jones
 Kathy Kies
 Pam King Sams
 James W. Lintott
 Cidalia Luis-Akbar
 Natalia Luis-Monteiro
 Walter G. Lukens,  III
 James MacCutcheon
 Sara T. Machir
 B. Thomas Mansbach
 Carrie Marriott
 Gerard R. Martin,  MD
 Alan L. Meltzer
 Edward J. Miller,  Jr.
 Charles K. Nulsen,  III
 Roger J. Packer,  MD
 Ramu Potarazu
 Blair McGee Raber
 Anthony Sandler,  MD
  Richard W. Snowdon,  III
 Tanya Snyder
 Marla Lerner Tanenbaum
 Laura S. Unger
 David L. Wessel,  MD
 Robin R. Wilder
 Audrey R. Wolf
 Joseph L. Wright,  MD

Children’s Research Institute
Oversees and directs the work of the Children’s Research Institute, one of the leading pediatric research institutes in the country.

Scott Koenig, MD, PhD (Chairman)
Fred T. Goldberg (Vice Chairman)
Joel Wood (Vice Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Jutta Parsons (Secretary-Treasurer)

Mark L. Batshaw, MD
 Kevin M. Fickenscher, MD, PhD
 Ada Sue Hinshaw, PhD
 Evan Jones  
 Alan Leshner, PhD
 Mary Alice O’Malley  
 Jutta K. Parsons  
 David Schlitz  
 Jay Schnitzer, MD, PhD
 Elizabeth A. Singer  
 Robert Taylor, MD

Back to Our Leadership

Safe Kids Worldwide

Oversees and directs Safe Kids Worldwide, an affiliate of Children’s National. Safe Kids Worldwide seeks to eliminate accidental childhood injury worldwide.

John H. Claster (Chairman)
Sarah  Colamarino (Vice Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Stephen O’Toole (Secretary-Treasurer)

Kate S. Carr
 Elizabeth Flury
 Edwin  D. Fuller
 Eric Markgraf
 Dana Points
 Michael J. Robinson
 Carmine Schiavone
 Raymond S. Sczudlo
 Orly Silbinger
 Matthew Thorton, III
 Jim Ward
 Donna Arp Weitzman

Safe Kids Worldwide, Ltd.

Kurt D. Newman, MD (Chairman of the Board & President)
Raymond S. Sczudlo (Secretary-Treasurer)

Douglas T. Myers, MBA, CPA

Children's National Health Network
Provides comprehensive, high-quality, integrated pediatric care through a network of community primary care physicians, specialists, and Children’s National inpatient and outpatient services.

James Mattey, MD (Chairman)
Eugene Sussman, MD (Vice Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Jeffrey Becker, MD (Secretary-Treasurer)

Dianna Abney, MD
Denice Cora-Bramble, MD
Linda Goldstein, MD
Michael Hopper, MD
William P. Madigan, Jr., MD
Lisa Rainey, MD
William Rees.MD
John Snyder, MD
Elizabeth Watts, MD
David Wessel, MD

Children's Pediatricians & Associates
Oversees and directs Children’s primary care pediatric practices and ensures the provision of high-quality, accessible, primary care to these practices’ patients.

Melvin L. Feldman, MD (Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Ellen K. Hamburger, MD (Secretary-Treasurer)

Denice Cora-Bramble, MD
Desouza, Dinea, MD
Douglas T. Myers

Children's School Services
Encourages and advances the health and well-being of children, and advances the provision of health services, including nursing services, to children in schools in Children’s service area.

Elizabeth A. Singer (Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Raymond S. Sczudlo (Secretary-Treasurer)

Denice Cora-Bramble, MD
Wendy Goldberg

Children’s National Advocacy & Public Policy, Incorporated 
Advises on and oversees the advocacy agenda of Children’s National Medical Center.

Wendy Goldberg (Chairman)
Julissa Marenco (Vice Chairman)
Kurt D. Newman, MD (President)
Artencia Hawkins-Bell (Secretary-Treasurer & Chairman-Elect)

Cory Alexander
Lisa Bernstein
Kate S. Carr
Elizabeth Flury
Bonnie Norman
Margaret O’Bryon
Kate Schecter, PhD
Joseph L. Wright, MD

Auxiliary Boards include:
  • Children's National Medical Center Emeritus Board
  • Board of Visitors of Children's National Medical Center
  • Child Health Center Board
  • Hearing and Speech Board


Quick Links
Visiting and Staying at Children's
Refer a Patient to Children's
Find A Doctor at Children's
Request an Appointment at Children's
Online Bill Pay
Give to Children's
Get Involved at Children's
Subscribe to Children's RSS Feed